ROCK SPRINGS — Sixteen people put their names in for consideration for the vacancy on the Sweetwater County Commission created by the death of Don Van Matre.

People who met the June 4 submission deadline were:

Terrance Andrews of Green River

Ted Barney of Green River

R. Cody Bramwell of Green River

Sherry Bushman of Green River

John Henning of Rock Springs

Allan Jarnagin of Jamestown

Gary Killpack of Green River

John Kolb of Rock Springs

Lester Mauch of Rock Springs

Ralph Obray of Green River

Island Richards of North Rock Springs

Luz Rossy of Rock Springs

Tim Savage of Rock Springs

Lauren Schoenfeld of Rock Springs

Bill Taliaferro of Rock Springs

Mary Thoman of Green River

Next the Sweetwater County Republican Party will host a public meeting to pick three candidates to send to the commission. The meeting is scheduled to start at 11 a.m. June 8 at the Best Western Outlaw Inn, 1630 Elk St., Rock Springs.

The four remaining commissioners will vote on the names forwarded by the Republican Party.

Van Matre died on May 2 after battling cancer. The commission declared his seat vacant on May 21.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.