1988 Hawaii team

Team Hawaii first competed at the National High School Finals Rodeo in 1988. The pioneering team included, front from left, DeeDee Keakealani-Bertelmann, Lee Jay Lindsey, Holi Bergin, Shay VanZandt, Ryan White, Craig Diego, Toni Ann Gomes and Dr. Billy Bergin; and Top, Monty Miranda, Billy Benevides, Shawn Aguiar, Chris Lopez and Peter Andrade.

ROCK SPRINGS — Hawaii is no short distance away, nearly 3,000 miles from the Sweetwater Events Complex with almost two-thirds of the journey over the Pacific ocean. Still, 18 competitors made the trip from Hawaii to compete in the Nationals High School Finals Rodeo.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.